The delta is the largest wetland in Catalonia. With its 320 km2, is the most important aquatic habitat in the western Mediterranean after the Camargue (French Regional Park) and is the second of Spain, after the “Doñana National Park.” Moreover, its significant biological role, in contrast to the profound humanization of a large part of its surface and its not inconsiderable weight setting, the harmony between its natural and exploitation by man has never been easy. The Natural Park of Delta del Ebro, has a total area of 7736 ha of which 3979 correspond to the region of Montsià (hemidelta right) and 3757 in the Costa Dorada (hemidelta left) includes the Lakes of the Pots, the Canal Vell the Garxal, Ia Alfacada, the Platjola, the Closed and Encanyissada, Buddha Island, San Antonio and Sapinya, the peninsulas of the Punta de la Banya (Alfaques) and Fang, the Ullals of Baltasar and Herms of Casablanca. .

The Costa Dorada is the coastal area south of Catalonia, in the northeast of the Iberian Peninsula between 40 ° 32 ‘and 41 ° 34’ north latitude and 0 ° 11 ‘and 1 ° 40’ longitude east of Greenwich Mean Time. Tarragona is the capital and the surrounding area is divided into 10 counties and 183 municipalities. It has an area of 6,283 km2, with the provinces of Lleida, Girona and Barcelona, ​​Catalonia form. Limits the north with the French beyond the Pyrenees in the south with Valencia and Aragon to the west, one of the seventeen autonomous communities of Spain, south of Western Europe.